Saturday, April 30, 2011

Dove Creek Road Race

Sunny skies opened up the Comox Cup Race series with the first race on the Dove Creek Circuit. A total of 33 cyclist lined up at the start in category A, B, C and Novice. In the A race a 5-man breakaway formed that successfully stayed away for the duration of of the race (a first ever for the Dove Creek Circuit), coming into the finish Cyrus Kangarloo (Top Gear) took the sprint, with James Cameron (Pro City Racing), and Nigel Ellsay (Team Trail Eatmore Cycling Team) rounding out the podium. In the B race after 66km Scott Wiener took the sprint over James Grant (Team Trail Eatmore Cycling Team), and Mort Allingham finishing on the podium. In the C race of 33km  Eamon Simmons took the win with Mark Grant (TTECT) and Hugh Park on the podium. And in the Novice Category Isaac Van der Vliet took his first win of 2011 as he starts his journey to the Tour de France.
Overall a tough day of racing, a couple of flats, a great set of volunteers who made this race possible, and a big thanks to race director John Van der Vliet for putting on the event.
There will be a better B/C race description once i talk to the riders, check back later.
Also, if anyone has photos, please email them to me, and i will post them.

No comments:

Post a Comment