Sunday, August 29, 2010

Provincial Time Trial Champion

The club has three NEW provincial time trial champions!
Jordan Duncan back to back provincial tt wins!
Kia Van der Vliet dominates the junior female category!
James Grant takes the junior mens!
Jake Van der Vliet and Thomas Andrew take 2nd and 3rd respectively chasing down Jordan Duncan.
Mark Grant follows his brother for a well deserved 2nd.
John Van der Vliet takes 2nd after falling 3 seconds short of 1st.

Sunday, August 15, 2010

Comox Cup Point Series and Championship Race Pictures

Hi Everyone
Championship Road Race photos are off of the main facebook page. A big thanks to Pat Gerrie for the photos!

The Comox Cup point series comes to a close with a great finish. In the A category John Van der Vliet took the lead at Tsolum RR, defended at Minto, sprinted for the win at the Omnium, and played it safe at the Championship weekend. 2009 Series Champ Ray Wagner managed to wrest 2nd place from Jordan Duncan after a tough start to the season.
In the B category Sig Isaac finally managed to step take the lead by overcoming rival Jake Van der Vliet in a tough points race which saw Jake take the early lead and defend it while Sig slowly pulled back the huge points lead which looked daunting for any rider. Consistent climbing extraordinaire Thomas Andrew finished third .verall for the B category.
C category saw the entry and rise of brothers James and Mark Grant from dominating wins from young James throughout the whole season lead to a huge point gap that didn't deter younger brother Mark. 2010 also saw the entry of strong man Simon Harrington rounding out the podium with consistency and competitiveness that would make anyone think twice when they race against him.
Full comox cup point series here. If there are any mistakes please email about that mistake, be detailed please, there are a lot of numbers to look over.

Championship Weekend Rundown

Hot, smoky weather enveloped riders coming out to race in the Trail Bicycles Championship Weekend. The hotter than usual weather, thanks to fires in the interior, made racing unbearably hot but did little to dampen the spirits of those who came out. On Saturday riders were faced with a 32km time trial, 16km for juniors, around Dove Creek. John Van der Vliet stopped the clock in 48:05 to set the fastest time of the day for the aerodynamic class, while Ray Wagner racing with no aerodynamic advantages finished in 50:56 to beat fellow riders Michael Brinton and Mort Allingham. In the B category Sig Isaac raced to a fast time of 52:45 to best second place by almost 2 minutes. C category say James Grant finish the 16km course in 29:48 followed by Ernie Klassen, Simon Harrington, and Mark Grant.
Sunday opened up with hot weather with the C racers completing 37.3km (2.5 laps), B 53.8km (3.5km), A 70.2km (4.5laps). The new Dove Creek Championship road race course featured a Piercy Road finish just after the hills at the Entrance of Wildwood nature park to change the course from a flat out sprint into a tougher more "all rounder" course worked. C category group quickly split on the hill and James Grant took a the final win of the 2010 Comox Cup season over Gord Giesbrecht, and Ernie Klassen.
In the B category the race became the deciding factor in the Comox Cup series with Sig Isaac with a narrow 3 point lead over Jake Van der Vliet after Saturdays super hot time trial. The B pack quickly split after having started with the A racers; B racers Sig Isaac and David Damery stayed with the A's as the pace rose in the afternoon heat. The chasing group howevered suffered two flat tire casualties and young riders Jake Van der Vliet and Andrew Grant not finishing the race after heat exhaustion forced them to quit. David Damery took the sprint over Sig Isaac and Andy Brinton to take the top of the podium.
A racers got off to a hot start that saw attacks up the hills on Piercy road and technical attacks through the corners. Heat whittled the field down to a final selection of three riders to contest the sprint. Club President Ray Wagner took the sprint over Dave Nowak (Trail Bicycles Eatmore Sprouts) and John Van der Vliet (Simon Cycles-Airport Service Station) with youngster Michael Brinton and Rudy Daun round out the top five. After three years with the club, and just over a year since his last win, Ray Wagner took his fist Comox Valley Cycle Club win.
A big thank you to all the volunteers who made the races possible, Trail Bicycle, Tim Hortons, and Eatmore Sprouts.

Championship Weekend Results and Comox Cup Series!

Hi Everyone
Time Trial Results
Road Race Results
Comox Cup Points Series

Monday, August 9, 2010

Championship Weekend

2010 Championship Weekend
32km Dove Creek Time Trial
Saturday August 14, 2010
Registration opens at 10am on Burns Road. A/B/C categories with aero and classic class (aero=tt helmets/skinsuits etc. and classic is normal road bike with no aero equipment (wheels included)). Juniors only need to complete 1 lap unless otherwise indicated. Full Comox Cup points will be awarded to all categories and too within each class. For all riders i...n the CVCC Time Trial series the time trial time may be used.
Registration opens at 10am, race at 11am. Cost is $15 for adults, 5 for juniors.
Dove Creek Championship Road Race Course
Sunday August 15, 2010
Registration opens at 10am on burns road. A/B/C categories. Riders start at burns road with a post hilltop finish on Piercy road at the Wildwood Trail Entrance. C riders do 2.5 laps (37.3km), B 3.5 (53.8km), A 5 (70.2km). Full comox cup points will be award to all categories to wrap up the Comox Cup Point Series. Cost is $15 for adults, $5 for juniors.
Plenty of Prizes will be awarded AFTER the Sunday Road Race.

Tuesday, August 3, 2010

Trail Bicycles Team Time Trial this Wednesday

Trail Bicycles Team Time Trial this Wednesday

Trail Bicycles and the Comox Valley Cycle Club will be hosting a Team TT on Wednesday evening, August 4th at 6pm.

Registration begins at 5:30 at the corner of Headquarters and Rennison Road, the site of the usual Headquarters TT start.  The course is a quick 20km out and back that includes a loop of Tsolum River Road.

Teams can be any combination of two, three or four people.  Time will be taken on the first two to cross the finish line. 

Anyone can participate and there is no cost to race although you must hold a valid Cycling BC License or be a member of the Comox Valley Cycle Club.  CVCC membership is $20 for adults and free for juniors under 18 years old.  If you are not a member of the CVCC but would like to give the time trials a try, a “one day license” may be purchased on site.  The license is for general liability insurance.

Volunteers are also needed for this event, so if you are planning on coming, bring your brother, your mother, your grandpa or friend.

Find a couple of fast guys, put on some crazy helmets and giver this Wednesday!

If you need more information, contact Andrew Brown at 250 898 3336 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting              250 898 3336      end_of_the_skype_highlighting.